‘I told him he’ll enjoy it here’ – Warnock to prospective Huddersfield Town owner Kevin M. Nagle

(Photo by John Early/Getty Images)

Huddersfield Town head coach Neil Warnock took the chance to talk to the prospective new owner of the Terriers, Kevin M. Nagle, ahead of the Terriers’ final-day victory over relegated Reading 2-0.

The American investor, 68, had visited the John Smith’s stadium during the ultimate home game of Town’s Championship campaign, six weeks after agreeing to take over the West Yorkshire side from Dean Hoyle, with the purchase currently awaiting to be confirmed by relevant authorities.

Nagle with Neil Warnock and his assistant coach Ronnie Jepson stood together on a pitch-side couple of hours before the game, having a long talk and taking a tour around the John Smith’s stadium.

(Photo by John Early/Getty Images)

When asked about the dialogue, Huddersfield Town’s head coach described the conversation with the prospective owner as ‘just a general chat’.

Warnock said: ‘I was pleased that I could leave him a Championship club – I think it helps financially (to be in this division).

‘I said to him ‘You’ll enjoy the fans this afternoon, you’ll see them how they can be’, and I think it‘s been a good afternoon to him, really.’

(Photo by John Early/Getty Images)

The 74-year-old also revealed he advised Nagle to resign the players who are out of contract for next season – the likes of Danny Ward and Josh Koroma, key players in Warnock’s survival bid, could become free agents in July.

‘I would sign them all, but that’s not for me, that’s for the chief executives.

‘When you have an opportunity to just redo contracts, I think you snap them up – I will get them fixed, if they don’t get the contract, I will get three-four managers to sign these lads, so I’m their best contact,’ the veteran manager said.

Kevin M. Nagle is the owner of Sacramento Republic – the USL (United League Soccer) franchise – and a minor investor in NBA’s Sacramento Kings.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started